One of Those Memories

November 18th is a little bit of a special day. It’s an anniversary of sorts. One that had importance but slowly was replaced by other more important dates, yet it still is a special day. It’s the day that started it all, it’s the day Brian and I had our first date.

10 Years ago, that sounds like a long time. When you do the math it’s actually over 1/3rd of our lives. Looking back, where I am today is not where I said I would be back then.

We were both in high school. It was the first year that the school board offered a Cisco Certification Class. It was open to all the schools in the city and you had to apply to it and be accepted. It was an excellent class, we had a ton of fun and I made a lot of friends. This is also where I met Brian. Keep in mind in high school to this point I had never had a boyfriend, never had a date. I was always the girl who the guys wanted to be friends with. I loved sports and cars, playing video games and was a tom boy in general, granted when I walked into the class the odds were in my favour. There were 2 girls and 20 boys. The other girl also dropped out of the class shortly after it started.

Our class photo. It’s more like a game of where’s Waldo instead of a class photo.

Can you spot the girl?

Why am I smiling so much, because Brian was holding my hand in the photo.

I had a pair of white canvas deck shoes. They had The Grinch Who Stole Christmas embroidered on them. They were one of my favourite pair of shoes, I actually wish I still had them. The conversation went something like this:

“I see you have the Grinch on your shoes.”
“Yes.”
“Did you know the movie comes out on Friday?”
“Yes, I really want to see it.”
“What are you doing Saturday?”

Well you can figure out where it goes from there. We went and had a dinner at Crabby Joe’s followed by How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

This picture was taken shortly after we started dating.

As I said I never thought I would be where I am today 10 years ago. A lot has happened in 10 years. College, followed by hunting for jobs, getting married, buying our first car, buying our first house and then fast forward to October.

A previously unseen photo taken very early on the morning of October 23. Currently it is our only family photo. I think we should work on correcting that.

I didn’t think this is where I would be, however there is nowhere else I would rather be.

Leave a Reply

