Book Review: Dewey’s Nine Lives

Dewey's Nine Lives: The Legacy of the Small-Town Library Cat Who Inspired MillionsDewey’s Nine Lives: The Legacy of the Small-Town Library Cat Who Inspired Millions by Vicki Myron
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I had very high expectations for this book and I couldn’t even finish it. I read, loved and cherished Dewey so when I came across this book I was excited to hear more Dewey stories. As I got further into the book the author Vicki Myron attempted to draw more and more parallels to Dewey’s life and her own. If you talk to enough people you will find people who have very similar stories to you. I felt that drawing these parallels in the middle of these other cat stories really took away from Dewey’s legacy. If you read the first book you’ll find this book very redundant. It was same story over and over again about being a single mother who battled a sickness and found comfort in a cat. I finally gave up on page 137 after 6 pages of going on about how similar the lives were of the author and the contributor of the story. “When Vicki Kluever wrote me, she mentioned how moved she was by the similarities in our lives. And she promised: It wasn’t just that we had the same name spelled the same unusual way.” Its was lines like this throughout the book that added unnecessary fluff and really took away from what could have been an amazing book full of inspirational cat stories. I hope that Vicki Myron doesn’t collaborate on another Dewey book. This book was a bad idea and she should let Dewey and his legacy live on through the way she so wonderfully told it in her first book Dewey.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: Dewey’s Nine Lives

  1. […] I could have done this automatically however blah blah blah – The books I did read were:Dewey’s Nine Lives by Vicki Myron The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls The Day Donny Herbert Woke Up by Rich Blake Swimsuit […]

Leave a Reply

