OMG! – I’m turning into my Mother

I’m not saying that this is a bad thing and I love my Mom so much but I had one of those OMG moments this morning.

My Mom is a very cool person. Yes I said that about my Mother. She is always in fashion, listens to the newest music and loves to shop.

This morning started very early for me. There was a 1am feeding for Adam. We made it though the feeding but he is still fussier then usual. The only explanation is his needles yesterday which I was told to expect by the doctor. I guess when two lovely ladies sneak up and attack you with needles you might be a little traumatized. I was also advised to take the bumpers off the crib by the doctor, she strongly urged me actually so when she says things like that I have to follow her suggestions. Adam likes to sleep with the side of his head touching something so he makes his way to the side of the crib and rests his head against it. I can see the danger in this from suffocation. I am still torn because when I went in to feed him this morning I heard a *thud* *thud* *thud*. Well my poor Adam was repeatedly bumping his head against the side of the crib. There is no bruise thank heavens but there was quite the red mark on his head. We’ll see if he does the same thing tonight and we might have to think of something else to put in the crib.

In the end he just wanted to be held so I took him out of his crib and we moved down to the couch so I could try to get more sleep. Adam kept waking up with a crying burst though the night. He didn’t have a fever which is a common side effect of the needles, so I think he’s just having flashbacks of yesterday afternoon. Well the couch did a number on my back last night and I wasn’t in the best shape this morning. I got Adam to sleep again, rolled off the couch and slipped a pair of Crocs on. These are shoes that I hate and swore I would never wear, however my Mom told me they would help with my foot and loaned me a pair of hers. Well she was right and they do really help and now I know why she wears them all the time at home.

I went upstairs to get dressed and rubbed my incredibly dry hands. I guess that happens when you’re washing bottles and washing your hands after so many diaper changes. A voice popped into my head – it was my Mom saying “You must moisturize!” Again I can’t disagree with her, my knuckles are disgusting.

I dove into the pile of clothes on my bedroom floor and thought about the selection. They are almost all hand-me downs from my Mom. As mentioned before she is very fashionable and loves to shop. I very often end up with new clothes that are hardly worn. They also tend to be brand names. Today I went for the lounge suit because I’m exhausted and was not leaving the house. I quickly glanced in the mirror and there was my Mom staring back at me.

As children not many of us want to grow up to be their parents. If you say “you sound like your mother or father” most people shutter and say OMG! Most people will stop saying or doing whatever provoked that comment. It made me think of one of my all time favourite songs performed by Jann Arden:

I’ve got money in my pocket
I like the colour of my hair
I’ve got a friend who loves me
Got a house, I’ve got a car
I’ve got a good mother
And her voice is what keeps me here

Feet on ground, heart in hand
Facing forward be yourself

When I hug you tonight I am politely going to ask you to get out of my head but thinking about it Mom, it wouldn’t be a bad thing to turn into you. Well except for that whole Jersey Shore thing – if I start watching that someone please shoot me!

I LOVE YOU!

One thought on “OMG! – I’m turning into my Mother

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Karen . Karen said: RT @adventuresinpic: OMG! – I'm turning into my Mother: http://t.co/NjMbM50 […]

Leave a Reply

