Book Review: The Glass Castle

The Glass CastleThe Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I read this book on the recommendation of my Mom. She said that everyone who she knew who read it enjoyed it. She can add another person to that list.

Jannette had a special way of telling her story. There was no bitterness towards the horrible things that happened in her life. It wasn’t a sob story or one to even feel sorry about. When I first started reading this I had a hard time believing all these things happened to one person. Maybe it was hard to believe because there was little emotion described in the book. It was written in a very matter of fact way. I kept telling myself that fact is very often stranger than fiction.

The only thing I didn’t like about this book was that towards the end there seemed to be a huge gap in the story. She went from a very detailed account of her adventures as a child into being a teenager, moving away and then the rest seemed to be glazed over. It makes me wonder what she was feeling and what happened in that time. Did she live a “normal” existence in that time? Did all of the things that happened in her childhood affect her? It just seems like something was missing in the flow of the story.

I would recommend this book. It wasn’t a heavy book to read, it was entertaining and it made you think about what you would do in that situation. It was well written and flowed well until almost the very end.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: The Glass Castle

  1. […] however blah blah blah – The books I did read were:Dewey’s Nine Lives by Vicki Myron The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls The Day Donny Herbert Woke Up by Rich Blake Swimsuit by James Patterson The Short Second Life of […]

Leave a Reply

