A Rough Morning

Adam is a very good baby, I really shouldn’t be complaining because I am spoiled by his behaviour. However this morning he had me at the end of my rope.

He usually gets up between 4 and 6 for his first bottle and then he goes on a 2-4 hour eating schedule for the rest of the day. 4 am is a brutal wakeup time, but having gotten out of bed at 4:30am 5 days a week for many years I know how to cope with it. When he sleeps in until 6am it’s a miracle and I am the happiest Mommy out there. My ultimate goal is for him to sleep until 7 am. But I guess beggars can’t be choosers.

This morning Adam started his morning at 2 am. He started crying pretty loud for him, I went into his room and he was half twisted trying to flip over. Yesterday he mastered rolling from his belly to his back. This morning he mastered rolling from his back to his belly and that seemed to upset him. I got him out of his crib, changed his diaper and gave him a bottle. He sucked it back so he must have been hungry. He went back to sleep right away and I happily crawled back into bed.

At 3am he started to scream again like he was in pain. Daddy actually got out of bed for this one. Daddy found Adam on his belly, rolled him back onto his back, put the soother in his mouth and he fell asleep right away. This is not a good pattern to be starting.

At 4am he started to cry again, it was my turn to get out of bed so I went and changed his diaper again and gave him another bottle. It took over an hour to get him back to sleep. This is the feed I started to cry and was fo angry and frustrated. I wanted to be selfish and I just wanted to sleep. I crept back to the bedroom and started to doze off.

5:30am he started to cry again. Daddy got out of bed, I told Daddy to bring Adam back to bed. Daddy put baby in my arms and he fell asleep almost immediately. He slept until 7:30am. I was able to doze on and off until that time too.

I was so tired and miserable at 7:00 while Adam was sleeping peacefully. I was so angry at him, why should he get to sleep when he kept me up during my sleeping time. I got dressed and crawled back into bed. He slept a little longer and started to wake up. I started to dread the start of the day. My head was already pounding, my eyes were burning and no matter how good a baby is, caring for a 4 1/2 month baby is demanding.

I took Adam into his nursery to get him dressed for the day and he started to giggle and smile. He started blabbering and blowing raspberries, I asked him what the deal was and he responded with a smile followed by a raspberry. When he smiles his whole face lights up, and my heart melted.

Yes I am exhausted and am seriously looking forward to bed tonight, but how can I stay mad at such a handsome, adorable little man?

Leave a Reply

