Disconnecting From The World

Last night I did something I never do –

I turned off my cell phone. At dinner time I decided to turn it off so it wasn’t a distraction. I didn’t want to be bothered and really I didn’t want to deal with anything that might come up. I turned it on before bed and then turned it off again.

You know what I discovered? The world didn’t fall apart, to be honest the world probably didn’t even know I was gone.

I’ve been toying with a few ideas because lately things like Facebook and Twitter make me miserable. I have not decided what to do but I feel like that decision deserves its own blog.

I’m thinking the issue is I am a yes person. Most of the time my phone goes off its someone asking something from me. It could be work, family or friends. I am the person who changes the plans I made with family because a sick call came in at work. I’m the type of person who sits and researches something because someone can’t find the answer.

This situation is of my own creating but last night I think was the night that I discovered no is an acceptable word to put into my vocabulary. As well as maybe I am t0o connected to the world.

Do I really need to know what is going on in the world every minute of every day? – Not really

Do I need to know what every one of my friends are thinking and feeling every second of the day? – Some people maybe yes but the majority of the people on my Facebook are posting silly pictures or changing their relationship status every hour.

I will start saying no and I will not feel guilty about it.

Anyways I think the point is right in front of me I have a very important little man who needs my attention more than any online community right now.

Those who really want to know what is happening in my life will call, visit or e-mail.

I am experimenting with a new idea. I’m going to turn of my cell phone at 5pm on the days I don’t work. My theory is that if there is a sick call at work they usually contact me way before that. Realistically they have my home phone number if they really need to contact me. If someone needs to get in touch with me they will know how to.

Everything else doesn’t matter.

The weather is awesome, my little man is hilarious and I feel like Brian and I need to spend some more time together.

I need to lead by example for Adam.

My phone will be off, the world will still go on and I think I will be happier in the long run.

I think it’s time to start disconnecting from the world, even if it is only for a couple of hours a day.

Leave a Reply

