Seventy-Five

Monday, April 12, 1937 as I research this day in history it really appears to generally be an uneventful one.

Virginia Woolf was on the cover of Time Magazine. To be honest I had to Google who she was because for the life of me I couldn’t remember who she was. After looking it up I realized many literary scholars will be shedding a tear over the fact I didn’t know this information. My apologies, I never studied English literature more than I had to and if we were taught about her in high school English class, I must not have been paying attention. On the plus side I don’t think if I had paid attention in class it would have benefited me to be any further ahead or better off then I am now.

As it turns out over in Rugby, England Sir Frank Whittle ground tested the first jet engine designed to power an aircraft.

The Supreme Court of the United States upheld the National Labor Relations act of 1935 which ensures the right of employees to organize and to bargain collectively with their employers.

As it also turns out Franklin D Roosevelt was busy too sketching the original draft for the Roosevelt Library.

I did come across a website which had the average cost of things in 1937.

A new house was $4,100.00
Average wages $1,780.00
A gallon of gas $0.10
Rent of a house $26.00
A loaf of bread $0.09
1 lb of Hamburger Meat $0.12
A new car $760.00

After all this research I have come to the conclusion that the most exiting thing that happened on April 12 of 1937 happened in Halifax.

On this day G.G. (a.k.a Grandmom) was born.

We are very lucky that G.G. lives just around the corner from us. She is always so excited and willing to help out. When you think about it how many Great Grandparents can actually get on the floor and play with their Great Grand Child? That is what she does. Adam just loves our visits with her. He recognizes her and we’re trying to get him to say G.G. A couple of times it sounds like he’s said it. G.G.s visits are always so nice to visit with her, but also for the free time it creates for me to get things done around the house.

G.G. makes the entire family laugh with her life shenanigans. She is a wonderful painter as demonstrated by the mouse hole she painted in Adam’s room.

Adam and I stopped by to wish her a Happy Birthday while we were out for a walk today. Little did she know she was going to get her house clean.

I guess the long and the short of this blog is – HAPPY BIRTHDAY! We hope your day is a wonderful one and that there are many more years of health and happiness to follow today.

Blogged with Love
Shannon & Adam

Leave a Reply

