Extreme Couponing

Have you ever seen that show Extreme Couponing? I’ve watched it here or there, however I can’t believe the amount of time or the lengths that people have gone to get coupons. I’ve seen people go dumpster diving to get coupons. Also watching these shows sometimes I think they border on Hoarding. Who really needs 1,000 razors? Aren’t people concerned about expiry dates on the products? I’ve never quite understood it. Like them I do like a bargain however the mindset seems odd. There is the one exception, one of the episodes I watched the person was using coupons to get free things to send to the troops overseas and to the local food bank. Everything he was getting was being donated. That I can understand.

Maybe it’s because we don’t have the same deals on coupons in the stores. Our coupon inserts are often save 75 cents when you buy two items. It turns out those items are $5.95 each and it’s usually an item I won’t use anyways. I tend to forget my coupons when I do pick one or two out, but I tend to suck at couponing, and I also believe in just buying what you need and having a little bit of a stockpile because I don’t need to feed an army for 5 years.

I will admit though, my eyes may be opening to this world of deals. A few months back I received one of those consumer surveys in the mail. You know the ones, if you fill it out you’ll be entered into a draw for $5,000. I was bored one day and decided why not fill it out and send it back. There was a check box if you would like to receive samples and coupons from companies and I checked it off.

In the mail yesterday there was a little package. I found this in it. Sample dishwasher tabs and dish rinsing agent. Cool, I love free surprise stuff in my mail box. Granted last time I tried the Finish dishwasher tabs I wasn’t a fan of them but for free I’ll give them a second chance.

There was also an envelope that said it has time sensitive savings inside it. I opened it and read the letter from this consumer group that I filled out the survey for and expecting the coupons to be useless I was pleasantly surprised. It was all for items I checked off that I use on a regular basis or would like to try. There were even “bonus” coupons to share with family and friends.

So with coupons in hand this morning I walked down to the store to see if I could just mimic those extreme couponers on a small scale.

I went after 4 items today to see how little I could spend on these items using my coupons.

The Air Wick air freshener was $11.99 and I had a $5 dollar coupon so it cost me $6.99.

The Skintimate shave gel was $2.97 and I had a $3.00 coupon so it was FREE.

The Colgate toothpaste was $4.97, marked down to $4.00 and I had a $4.00 coupon so it too was FREE.

The Protein bar was $1.97, marked down to $1.50 and I had a coupon to try one for free so it was FREE.

So what should have cost me $20.46 only cost me $6.99. That is a savings of $13.47 on stuff I would have probably purchased at full price anyways. (Granted these extreme coupon people would say I spent too much anyways)

On my way home I stopped at the dollar store and picked up a coupon organizer. If I’m going into a store to buy something anyways why not use a coupon and save some money.

As I was flipping through the coupon flyer there were coupons that caught my attention this time. There is a little fear that I am turning into one of those crazy ladies who makes their children clip coupons and freezes the stores terminals because I’m trying to get $400 in items for free.

I guess a little money saving project never hurt anyone.

 

Leave a Reply

