Post Turkey Review

Today is the day the world returns to normal. Our pants are fitting a little tighter, we’ve survived time with our family and friends and hopefully taken a moment to relax.

My to-do list looked like this for the weekend. I had intended to take more pictures over the weekend with this list in mind but it just didn’t happen that way.

  • Scrapbook for at least 1 hour
    I spent a few hours at my scrapbook table and put out 4 finished pages. I am very optimistic I will be finishing my 2009 scrapbook in the next month or two. It was so nice to work on my projects again. It’s something I have to do more often.

  • Finish 50 Shades Freed
    I finished this book and I was very thankful for finishing it. You can read my review here but the long and short of it is the whole series was poorly written.

  • Write a blog or two I’ve been meaning to write for next week, or even the week after. Just get some saved up about things that have been happening that I haven’t been able to keep up with.
    I fully intended to write-up a few blogs however I spent very little time at the computer. I did blog everyday this weekend which was nice. There is a number of views I want to hit by the end of the year so I’m trying to come up with ideas to hit that goal. If I do not a big deal because finding time to blog this year has seemed to be a challenge.
  • Sleep in 1 of those 4 days
    I sort of slept in. Brian and I were both battling colds all weekend so I did spend some quality time in bed, however sleeping in wouldn’t be how I described it. Sunday and Monday I was up by 6am both days. Instead of fighting sleep I did some reading and blogging and I may start getting up early again. Then again maybe not.
  • Drink at least one bottle of wine (or help someone drink at least one bottle)
    This task was completed successfully. With the help of my family we polished off two bottles of my favourite wine. We learned my sister is a lightweight, Dathan likes wine and I better stock up before Christmas. Have I mentioned I love my Grandmom?

  • Stare at the wall for 10 minutes
    Brian says I completed this task, however I don’t recal taking 10 minutes to stare at the wall. However in my fuzzy state I probably did.
  • Go for a walk with my boys
    We didn’t get out for the walk I had imagined but again we spend lots of quality time together. We snuggled and played cars. We chased each other around the house and had tickle fights. It was some much-needed downtime we needed.
  • Do some laundry (<-hey how did that get in there? Well I can do laundry while scrapbooking so it’s not really a chore)
    Yep got the laundry done and even got it all put away by the end of the weekend. I ended up doing more “housework” then I planned but I don’t regret it now because I don’t have to deal with it now.

  • Watch at least one football game beginning to end (this is a challenge when you work Sunday afternoons, Monday and Thursday nights. Really I’ve been a bad fan this year)
    Some say I may have cheated on this one but I watched the Packers game while I scrapbooked and did laundry. I saw it as multi-tasking and time is a valuable commodity so I had to cram as much in as possible.
  • Eat enough food to feed a third world country (can’t blame me. Turkey, Ham and stuffing OH MY!)
    I ate so much food that I thought I was going to explode. I ate and ate and ate. When I stepped on the scale this morning I liked what I saw. At first it puzzled me how I could eat and drink that much and end up not gaining any weight. Then the exhaustion kicked in and after dinner both nights I spent chasing Adam around. Running, giggling and well on my toes. At the nursing home I probably ran for 30 minutes straight. Adam’s face was red from all the running. It’s not a bad thing to have a toddler who doesn’t sit still.

The weekend was great with the exception of fighting a cold however we made the best of it. I was relaxed and had some time for myself. We spent quality time with our family and together as a family. It made me think and maybe after this Christmas season at work I will take one weekend off a month, or change my availability to have one weekend day off each week or adjust so I only work mornings. There are a lot of possibilities and I will take the next few months to consider them all. Maybe I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing.

Time is such a valuable commodity. It slips through our hands so easily and is wasted without any thought.

Leave a Reply

