An Unexpected Visitor

Yesterday while Adam and I were arguing over him playing with the water in the kitchen there was a huge thump against the window. Enough that I jumped and Adam stopped arguing. The window wasn’t broken so I assumed someone threw something and it hit the window.

(We have a lot of kids/teens so it wouldn’t be a long shot to have a ball hit the window)

I went to the window because there wasn’t a soul to be seen and looked into my garden. I saw a bird on his back flapping frantically. I went and grabbed a pair of gloves and went out with a sinking feeling that I was going to have a dead bird on my hands. By the time I got out there he had flipped onto his feet but was just sitting there. I couldn’t leave him with the amount of outdoor cats in the area so I picked him up and put him in a shoebox. I would put him on the back deck where I could more easily watch him and hopefully hide him from predators.

When I picked him up I examined his wings and they seemed to be ok and his legs were ok. His one eye was closed but the other one was fine. I brought him into the house and he stared to flap his wings frantically but refused to fly off. That was a good sign.

20121018-134810.jpg

A quick call to my Mom and some quick tips and a few minutes on google I discovers it was a fox sparrow and it can take over an hour for a bird to recover from being stunned after flying into something. My Mom’s advice was smack on to put a blanket in a shoebox and just keep an eye on him.

20121018-134818.jpg

Adam was in love with the bird. He kept asking to pet it but whenever I put him close he would just squeal “bird!”. When we got the shoebox all set up and we came inside Adam had a complete meltdown because he wanted to stay with the bird. I set up the bird so we could easily see him out the window.

Within the hour he started to hop around and as quickly as he flew into my window he flew off. This resulted in another meltdown by Adam because the bird was gone.

I’m glad he was ok. I hate having to bury birds. They are such graceful delicate creatures.

It was nice to have an unexpected visitor for a bit.

20121018-134838.jpg