Review: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared
The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

For Christmas I suggested if people were stumped in what to get me that they could buy me books. When posed with what book or author I said whatever boom catches your interest as I am adventurous when it comes to trying to read new things. My sister came across this book and thought it was right up my alley.

When Alan at the age of 100 crawls out of the nursing home window in search of a new adventure the story that unfolded was more then I could have imagined myself. This modern day story intertwined with the stories of Allan’s past created a story that was so outrageous yet very believable.

It personally took me way to long to read this book, not because I didn’t enjoy it but because my life has been busy. I wanted to read it and picked it up several times but had to quickly put it down for various reasons. The writing was nicely done and easy to follow. I did have issues with some of the names and locations, with the story taking place in Europe and Asia I am not as familiar with things in that part of the world. I’m also not as familiar as I would have liked to been with the historical events so the plausibility of the story is not as impact full as I believe it could have been.

Overall I really did enjoy this book. It’s a different style of book, it has a lot of dark humor and the characters are quite likable. I recommend this book for a fun read. I’ve not read a book quite like this one.

Thanks Robin for the great book choice!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

