Sitting on the Couch and Eating BonBons

It’s very often assumed that stay at home Mom’s have a lot of free time on their hands. I won’t lie – some days yes I get a few moments for a nap or to sit and watch Dr. Phil and sip a coffee. Honestly though most days have things scheduled, to-do lists to accomplish, and things are always popping up. Mondays are always a busy day for me. I typically find myself working most of the weekend so I spend Monday catching up from the weekend and I very often try to get as much done on Monday so when Adam wakes up on Tuesday we can have a fun relaxing day.

As an experiment yesterday I wrote down how I spent my day. I rounded to the closes 5 minutes in most cases and it’s not exciting but it’s an interesting snapshot of what gets accomplished in a day.

6:45 am – Alarm clock goes off (a few swear words fall out of my mouth)

6:45 – 7:00 am – Check my phone, e-mails, texts, Facebook, Twitter, Newsites

7:00 – 7:30 am – Get dressed, make bed

7:30 – 8:00 am – Get Adam out of bed and dressed

8:00 – 8:45 am – Eat breakfast and watch TV

8:45 – 10:30 am – Play outside,  clean and set up deck, gardening followed by a meltdown from Adam when we come in the house

10:30 – 11:00 am – Write blog and watch some TV with Adam

11:00 – 12:00 pm – Make lunch, clean kitchen, shove food in my face while getting things done, take phone call

12:00 – 12:20 pm – Wash dishes, tidy clutter in kitchen (Adam is taking his sweet time eating his lunch)

12:20 – 1:20 pm – Snuggle time and book reading with Adam (one of my favourite parts of the day)

1:20 – 1:50 pm – Pick up toys (tornado Adam was around)

1:50 – 2:10 pm – I took a break and ate a bowl of Cheerios

2:10 – 2:15 pm – Sweep floor

2:15 – 2:40 pm –  Phone call with my financial planner

2:40 – 3:10 pm – Sweep, Swiffer and wash main floor floors

3:10 – 3:30 pm – Put away laundry

3:30 – 3:40 pm – Put all the toys back on the floor (when I wash my floors I take everything off them and pile them on the couch or tables)

3:40 – 4:05 pm – Secret project work

4:05 – 4:25 pm – Prep dinner

4:25 – 4:40 pm – Attempt to wake Adam up (he was quite the sleepy head), cook dinner and check my e-mails

4:40 – 4:55 pm – Eat dinner

4:55 – 5:00 pm – Clean up mess from dinner

5:00 – 5:30 pm – Get dressed for work, check the mail, have a drink, and snuggle Adam

5:30 – 6:00 pm – Drive to work and catch up with co-workers

6:00 – 10:00 pm – Work, now this isn’t a sit at a desk job. This is running up and down the ladder with printers, computers, pulling skids, putting product away

10:00 – 10:35 pm – Drive co-workers home and get myself home

10:35 – 11:30pm – Take a much deserved shower, talk to Brian about the universe and eat some chocolate (There is it!)

The lights went out at 11:30, I don’t think it took me that long to fall asleep. I’m not complaining about things, this is my life and I honestly like to be productive and busy is ok too. It makes you appreciate the downtime much more. This morning the alarm went off at 5:00 am, it’s after 7 and I have already had a coffee, sent a few e-mails and written this blog. If Adam naps and I take an hour for myself I won’t feel so guilty about it.

As I said before not everyday is this busy, Mondays always are. Days I work tend to be busier than days I don’t, however I always put Adam first. If he says Mom, sit and watch TV you better believe I’m dropping what I am doing and snuggling him. On days like yesterday where he was happy to help I try to squeeze as much out of the day as possible.

It drives me nuts when people assume I have lots of free time, staying at home isn’t hard and that I sit on the couch and eat bonbons all day.

The Barenaked Ladies sing a song “Who needs Sleep?” – Sometimes I think that is my motto.

Leave a Reply

