9 Years Ago. . .

9 Years Ago today I started what in my mind would be a temporary position until I could break into the field that I studied. I took a position as a part-time sales associate in a big box retailer.

Never did I plan to be there for 9 years. I was promoted several times as well as demoted once or twice. I have held a position in over half of the departments in the store. I have laughed and I have cried regarding my job. Sometimes I’ve just shook my head in awe from the things I have seen.

If you think about the past 9 years in technology (it’s a big box electronic retailer) I have seen so many things. From the old PDAs which were the coolest thing to the battle between Blu-Ray and HD-DVD. I use to sell CRT computer screens that cost $800 now a LCD monitor is $150. I get to play with everything that has hit the shelf. That itself is cool.

Most of all I have found a wonderful family I can go in and talk to, laugh with and even on the worst most stressful day have fun. I walk through the door and am greeted with high fives, and huge hugs. It’s not in very many places of employment you can find that.

They have taken care of me when I needed it, always making sure that they accommodated me during hard times in life and through a very rough pregnancy.

Even though there have been some very bad times and I don’t always like working weekends, the people I work with make it worth while.

I honestly don’t plan on being there for more than another 3 years. That is a little sad to me, however I have seen so many people come and go, it is getting close for me to end my retail career.

9 Years in retail is a very long time. You don’t realize how old you feel until you discover that your co-workers were born the same year that the Blue Jays won the World Series. This will be my 10th Christmas, every year I say it will be my last. Again you don’t really understand unless you have worked a Christmas in retail.

Unfortunately there is no bonus, no recognition for being around this long. It’s a shame because employee turnover is one of the most costly components of running a business.

And a little recognition never hurt anyone.

Leave a Reply

