Creepy Crawly

This morning I opened my back door to have a bunch I birds go crazy on my deck. They were on the far side and for the life of me I couldn’t figure out why they were making so much noise.

Turns out I may end up with a bit of a spider infestation.
20130530-091333.jpg

Ok a bit of an infestation may be an understatement.

It’s truly amazing how quickly this happened. With the amount of rain we’ve had this nest wouldn’t have survived so it’s been in the past 24 hours that the web has been strung, eggs laid and hatched. This is only one of 2 clusters on the web.

Adam and I went out to examine the web which was constructed against my sliding screen door. We can open and close the door without disrupting the web.

Adam was amazed with all the tiny spiders but he then wanted to “shoo” them and wasn’t paying attentions and almost walked into the web twice.

We’re back inside and have closed the door. I am torn at what to do. I don’t want them in the house but I also don’t want to kill them. I’m hoping those crazy birds come back and help themselves to nature’s all you can eat buffet.

If a few get in the house I guess that would be ok. All bugs get captured, examined and then violently shaken to death by an excited, curious two year old who runs around with them.

Nature is very cool sometimes. Even if it makes my skin crawl.

Leave a Reply

