What is Wrong with Working Hard?

I’m noticing a reoccurring theme in society lately. It feels like working hard is shunned upon.

I personally respect those who work hard, do the “crap” jobs that others turn their nose up to. I work with many amazing people who are working 70-80 hours a week at two to three jobs because they want to better themselves, pay off their debts, live on their own or put themselves through school.

What is wrong with working hard? As I talk to people I hear many people tell me “you’re crazy” or “I would never do that.”

I’ve been doing a paper route delivering flyers on Thursday mornings. Yes I wake up really early, it really sucks when it rains and the pay is horrible. However in my eyes the little money I make over the summer can go toward our trip to Florida. It’s not much but it’s more then I would have made sitting on my butt. I have decided that when it starts snowing I won’t continue doing it because as I said before, the pay sucks.

At my “main” job I drive 20 minutes for a four hour shift, work every weekend, work late and sometimes sacrifice sleep so I can stay at home with Adam during the day. As hard as this is Brian and I believe it is so important for Adam for one of his parents to be home with him.

I dabble in all sorts of things that can bring in extra money or life experiences but it also makes my life busy.

I am very often referred to as “crazy” just because I believe working hard and doing these things in the long run will improve my life and the lives of my family.

If I am not happy where my life is I try to take steps to change the course and the direction things are going. It’s very easy to sit back and complain but things will never change unless you take the necessary steps.

I believe that all this hard work will pay off, maybe not tomorrow or this weekend but I believe there will be a day in my life where all the sleepless nights and exhausting days will pay off. (And the days when Adam tells me he loves me the sacrifices are worth it.)

Is this a belief that people don’t embrace? Is society lazy and just expects everything to fall into their laps?

I hope that Adam will recognize the rewards of hard work. I hope that I can teach him that if he wants something bad enough he can make it happen. Sometimes these things take time but eventually hard work will pay off.

Am I the only one who feels this way or am I just really “crazy”?

One thought on “What is Wrong with Working Hard?

  1. Wow, awesome gumption Shannon! I personally wouldn’t do a paper route but I absolutely get you on trying new things to reach a goal, particularly financial. Every little bit helps, like selling stuff you don’t need or offering services and skills you’re good at for pay. Good luck and I hope you reach your goal soon!

Leave a Reply

