Happy Birthday Adam!

I still call you my Baby because you will always be my Baby but the reality is that you are not a baby anymore. Honestly I have a hard time calling you a toddler because you are more like a young boy now.

You have grown into this awesome little boy who I love spending my days with. There are days where we go on adventures and then there are days where you just want to sit and cuddle. I am eating up every minute of it because soon I will have to send you to school and I won’t get to spend as much time with you as I do now.

Your independence is a fantastic thing. You wash your hands and face on your own, you help me cook and you help yourself to whatever you feel you need at the time.  You love to run and play outside. You have almost outgrown your stroller so our long walks will to be ending. You love to read and you have an awesome imagination. There are days where I can’t keep up of what dinosaur friend is with us or what creation you made out of your play food.

You are not afraid to give hugs and kisses to those you love and my favourite is holding your hand. When we walk, when we are sitting and especially when you ask for me to sit in the backseat of the car and hold your hand while Daddy is driving.

You have discovered the joy of dancing and you dance like no one is watching. I hope you do that for the rest of your life because it’s healthy and fun. You have learned the art of sharing and empathy and even though you struggle with these some days I see the foundations of a wonderful boy who will  be in touch and not afraid of his emotions.

This year I feel is going to be a big year for you. There will be potty training (which I have not forced because I know you move at your own pace), there is your first big trip away from home and then before your next birthday you’ll start school. I know you are ready for it but your Mommy is not.

When you wake up this morning Mommy will be at work for a short while but Daddy will be there to wish you your first Happy Birthday of the day. When Mommy gets home we have something planned for you and I think you are going to love it. We owe you a trip to the Children’s Museum since the last visit was interrupted by an emergency. So what better day to make it up to you then your birthday.

I guess I end this post with HAPPY BIRTHDAY ADAM. Mommy and Daddy love you more than you will ever know.

birthday

Leave a Reply

