Review: The Unofficial Guide to Walt Disney World 2014

The Unofficial Guide to Walt Disney World 2014
The Unofficial Guide to Walt Disney World 2014 by Bob Sehlinger
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I picked this book up in preparation for our upcoming trip to Disney. The thing that caught my eye was on the front it said “How to cut you wait in line by 4 hours a day”. Then when I picked up the book I opened it to a chapter that had a title “Saving Money.” How can you not dive into a book that can save you time and money.

I have flipped through a few books and this is the most comprehensive of any travel books I have come across. I have read almost every page skipping the spa section because there is not a chance I’ll get treated to spa time and the section on Universal Studios.

I found the breakdown of every park and every ride quite helpful as well as the corresponding app on the iPad has been an excellent planning tool. The website is more comprehensive and the features are accessible at a tiny additional fee but worth every penny I paid.

At times I found the book was overwhelming with maybe too much information to read from front to back and at times I felt a bit of anxiety going there and trying to decide what to take our son on and what would make for a well-rounded trip for everyone. I also loved the sections on parenting your child at Disney. I think Brian and I are doing a great job however there were things in there I didn’t think of or think to prepare for.

This book despite some of the small things that I didn’t like will be packed and traveling with us. It covered everything I wanted to know, much I didn’t know i needed to know and some fun facts in between.

I highly recommend this book for anyone traveling to Disney. It’s been several years since I have been to Disney and this book has prepared me for the trip.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: The Unofficial Guide to Walt Disney World 2014

  1. Love Disneyworld! When are you going? If you’re going in the summer, pack water bottles filled with ice so you’re not dehydrated in the Florida heat. If you’re going in the winter, try to stay for their Christmas/New Year’s celebrations, they’re tearfully amazing. Other than the obvious suggestions of going early and grabbing fast passes, I’m curious what other recos this book has when you go with kids. My kiddo is only 18 months old so I haven’t braved theme parks with her yet. Will look into this read when I’m at a bookstore, thanks for sharing!

    • We’re going early next year, so it will be cooler then normal but way warmer then our winter. They had a break down of every ride and the scare-factor and how kids may react. They had listings of all the good places to have some downtime and play areas in the parks. Their parenting tips on how to handle melt downs and time outs at Disney was also great. I am a little nervous taking a 3 year old, I don’t blame you for not taking an 18 month old. There was so much information in this book it is worth at least flipping through.

      • That’s the perfect time because you won’t be bothered by the heat! The breakdown of rides is a feature I didn’t even think about, that’s a great resource. Going to Disneyworld from now on will definitely be a new experience. I’m excited for you! You’re going to have a super funtastic time πŸ™‚ Already looking forward to your future post! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

