Review: The First Phone Call from Heaven

The First Phone Call from Heaven
The First Phone Call from Heaven by Mitch Albom
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Any book Mitch Albom writes automatically jump to the top of my reading list. This one snuck up on me and I didn’t even know he had a new book coming out until I saw it in the Wal-Mart flyer.

Almost everyone has one person who they have lost in this world and would love to have one more phone call from or to hear their voice one more time. This is exactly what is happening in a small town in Michigan. People are receiving calls from their deceased loved ones.

Mitch did an excellent job of intertwining the stories and lives of all these people, while mixing in the skeptic characters with those who believe this was a true miracle. It was an interesting take as well on the media and how in modern-day news and things like this can travel so quickly and you can’t always take stories like this at face value.

The stories jump from present day to the past to fill in back story and jumps from one character to another however with all these movements it was a story that was still very easy to follow and enjoy.

The end of the book I am still on the fence about. I do not want to spoil it however I had a feeling it was going that way however there was a twist I didn’t see or expect which slightly broke my heart.

Overall this was a great book. I read the majority of it in two days which is huge for me and it must have been a good book for me to carve out that much time to dedicate to reading.

I recommend this book along with any others written by Mitch Albom. He has quite the way of instilling the feeling that life is so much more than we believe it is and that there is genuine good in everyone that surrounds us.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The First Phone Call from Heaven

  1. I have this one in my reading list. Glad there is a good recommendation for it!

Leave a Reply

