What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up

There is no denying parenting and raising a child is a challenge somedays.

I also think being a child is much harder then it use to be. There are many things to make life easier but also complicate things.

This morning I read one of the craziest and stupid ideas regarding education in a long time.

They are going to start career planning in Kindergarden. There is a portfolio that will follow your child from Kindergarden to Grade 12 to help them decide what they want to be when they grow up. In the later years it is transferred to a digital medium and done on the computer.

WTF?

Have you asked a 4 or 5 year old what they want to be when they grow up.

I asked Adam and he said he wanted to be a soccer player.

Why for today can’t he believe he will be a soccer player when he grows up. I know he probably never will but who am I to tell him otherwise. Maybe he will prove me wrong in 20 years and play for Manchester United or something.

I realize in high school the courses you take can impact your college and university career but in real life almost everyone I know has started a degree and changed their mind halfway through. They either finish what they were doing and go back for something else, or switch halfway through.

There is nothing wrong with that. I’m back in school working towards something completely different and the career path I’m on now I brushed off because math wasn’t my strong point.

I’m 31 and still don’t have a completely clear idea of where I am going with what I am doing.

How can we place that pressure on such young children?

There is nothing wrong with not knowing what you want to do. You have to try and fail or succeed at a hundred different things to discover yourself.

This program claims to help children discover their strengths and weaknesses to point them in the right direction.

Really? Your telling me my child’s strengths at 5 years old are going to completely change the course of his life? So my child is a horrible artist at that age does that mean he won’t blossom into an amazing artist?

I’m having a hard time with this. I think especially at these young ages we need to be teaching life skills and the fundamentals in education and not focusing on your career path in 20 years. Sure teach them about different jobs but so they really need a portfolio at such a young age?

I believe that the kids have so many years to have their dreams dashed or realized. They have years to discover their interests that we should just let them be kids today. Let them believe at 4 and 5 years old they can be a princess, or a soccer player or a Transformer.

Chances are tomorrow they will change their mind and want to be something else.

I am glad I am not the teacher who is going to have to destroy all these children’s dreams.

Leave a Reply

