Adam’s Ready – But I’m NOT!

It’s August 1st. Pretty much one month from now Adam will be starting Junior Kindergarten.

He’s ready and excited. I’m not.

I have been so lucky to be able to stay home with Adam during the days over the past 3 years. Really I am excited for Adam, he is going to love school. He loves going places and making new friends, he loves learning and exploring. Everything about him screams he’s going to thrive and have a wonderful time.

I guess I am just more sad for me. The past few years despite being challenging at times, have been awesome. We have had days filled with impromptu bus rides where we just ride the circuit, and adventures to different parks and libraries to days where we just sat on the couch and watched movies.

There is a part of me that is a little excited for the free time because I might have a fighting chance to catch up on my scrapbooking or just sit with a coffee and read a book. “ME TIME” is not something that I have had a lot of over the past few years but I am going to suddenly have more of it on my hands. Brian is encouraging me to take some serious time to relax. There are tasks I have planned to take my mind off a quiet house like cleaning and organizing every cupboard and closet. I will have another course to focus on, as well as my gym membership will probably get some great use starting September.

It’s going to be great to clean my house in the morning and it still be clean by the afternoon, but it’s going to be an adjustment. One that I know is going to be hard on me to get use to.

I won’t lie, when I talk to people about it I get teary eyed. It feels like I blinked and my little baby isn’t a baby anymore. I’m not ready to share him but he is ready to leave Momma Bear.

The first day of school is going to be hard, probably the first week of school. The worse thing I can do is cry in front of Adam because I want him to be excited about leaving me. He has to know Mom will be just fine without him. Eventually I will be, however I see myself sobbing a lot that first week.

Let this be the first of many milestones that leaves his mother a crying mess.

4 thoughts on “Adam’s Ready – But I’m NOT!

  1. Prayers for strength for you dear Momma! I too know I will be such a wreck that first day!

  2. These milestones are tough for mommas! I don’t know if I would be able to keep it together when my kids get married … but I’m getting way ahead of myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

