Review: Mary Poppins

Mary Poppins
Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mary Poppins is one of my favourite movies of all time. It has been since I was a child. I had the opportunity over the weekend to finally watch Saving Mr. Banks which shows the challenge of turning this book into the movie we all know. In the movie it came across that Disney took and butchered the book and it was nothing like how P.L. Travers intended it to be.

I really enjoyed this book. I loved how each chapter was a story unique to itself and did not build or fully relate to the previous or next chapter.

I can see why Disney loved this novel and could see how he could take some of the stories and combine them to make it even better.

I loved the book and it makes me appreciate what Disney did to the characters even more. Could you imagine such a magical person such as Mary Poppins being so cross and unhappy all the time. I think Disney took strong characters and made them better.

This is a great classic book and I am wondering why it took so long to read it.

I am excited to share this book with Adam when he gets older and I recommend it for a fun summer read for those of all ages.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

