I Wish I Could Hold You

I wish I could just scoop you up and hold you for as long as you need me to.

I see that you are having a hard time adjusting. I see that you are waking up too early, not eating breakfast, or much of lunch.

I see that you are acting out but you sneak into my bed  at night and cover me in kisses then whisper “Mommy I Love You” in my ear.

I am so proud that despite how you are feeling you still squeeze my hand and then let go. Despite your fear and apprehension you walk through those school doors.

Today I could tell you were hurting, when you turned back and looked at me with tears in your eyes and said “Mommy I’m going to miss you” I wanted nothing more then to run up to you, take you home and cuddle you all day.

You don’t know how much it hurt me to force a smile, choke back my tears and blow you a kiss and tell you everything is ok.

I promise I will be there at the end of the day to sweep you up and take you home. We will curl up on the couch with a snack and cuddle. Daddy doesn’t like when I let you fall asleep beside me in our bed. I agree with him in most cases but after this week I will break the rules. Tonight I will let you fall asleep in my arms under the safety of my blanket.

I think you need to feel safe, secure and loved.

I will do everything I can to make you feel that way.

 

Leave a Reply

