Choosing Happiness

I’ve been at my new job for almost 2 months now. Brian and I have been discussing Money a lot since this new job is less pay. Our conversations keep returning to one statement.

We’re choosing Happiness Over Money

Sure I could be working and making a lot more money however we would be miserable, and it took leaving one job and starting a new one to realize how miserable we were. More money could make things easier and it would mean we could do and have extras that we are now saying no to, however overall I am much more relaxed and happier. That means Brian is more relaxed and happier. It makes us better parents, and it makes us a stronger family unit.

I am not running off evenings and weekends to work, and when I do have to work those times they are manageable and Adam even accepts it without throwing a fit because we are together more now. Brian doesn’t have to rush home or we don’t have to rush through dinner because I have to leave for work. On weekends we can just sit on the couch or lay in bed doing nothing. Brian has more time to work on his hobbies and so do I. (Completion of my Disney Scrapbook is in sight – only 9 months behind schedule)

I sit and wonder what the world would be like if more people chose happiness over money. Sure a pedicure or manicure would be nice, and another Disney trip would be amazing however how miserable would I have to be working to achieve those things? Sure they bring me temporary happiness and relaxation but if I would rather feel happy and relaxed everyday then work to the point of exhaustion to obtain these “extras” in life.

As long as the bills are paid and you are happy what else does there really need to be?

In my eyes, when Adam is older there will be lots of time for me to work and make money.

4 thoughts on “Choosing Happiness

  1. My wife wanted to be a stay at home Mom. It was really tough financially but we have two amazing children because Mom was home after school to help with their homework when they were young. She even helped out at their elementary school. We couldn’t afford vacations but we went camping instead. You don’t have to spend a lot of money to have fun. Family comes first, the rest is just not that important.

    • I’ve been staying at home with my Son since he was born. I was able to work my job on evenings and weekends opposite of my husband so he was always with one of us. We saved a ton in daycare and I am so glad I didn’t miss out on any of his childhood. Now that he is in school I was able to get a job working 95% of the time while he is in school so I can take him and pick him up. I think it is really important for one of the parents to be there before and after school for them.

      It is hard I agree but I believe life is better in the end.

      • Being a parent is one of the hardest jobs around because your influence decreases as they get older. You will not know if you were successful until they become adults.

  2. I left a job where I had to work weekends to a higher paying job that left me the evenings and weekends to be with my family. It paid more and you know what? I HATED it! Now I am at a job that pays much like the first, but I am much more happy. Happiness before money any day.

Leave a Reply

