The Soundtrack of My Life

There are songs we all have that we go to during certain parts of our lives. Songs that help us get through a tough time, songs to cheer us up, songs that are our own power anthems. I thought of this last night after an e-mail exchange that did a few very positive things for me. It also made me say “I can’t always get what I want, But sometimes I get what I need.”

The soundtrack of your life, what songs have stuck with you for a long time? What songs have come into your life recently? It’s a list that is probably always changing but what songs would end up on a CD if you were to release a soundtrack for your life?

Here are the 12 songs that would be on my soundtrack (in no particular order).

  1. Can’t Always Get What You Want – Rolling Stones
    This song is a reminder that you can’t always get what you want, but sometimes you get what you need. There is a huge difference between wants and needs and sometimes a situation isn’t want you want but it is exactly what you need. This version is from the House soundtrack.
  2. Everybody’s Free to Wear Sunscreen – Baz Luhrmann
    There is no way to explain how awesome this song it. I had the lyrics posted on my wall all through high school and this song still means a ton to me. It’s always a reminder of things when they are good and when they are bad.
  3. Haven’t Met You Yet – Michael Buble
    This song was the hit song of the summer when I was pregnant with Adam. It’s about having not met the love of your life but knowing they are out there. Kinda reflective of my pregnancy with Adam, I knew he was there, I knew I would love him to death, but I just hadn’t met him yet. He actually knows this is our song. He’ll point it out if he hears it in a store.
  4. Don’t Stop Me Now – Queen
    This song took a special place in my heart after Shaun of the Dead came out. I had heard it as a child on record, followed by tape and CD. It’s a great song and I imagine in the zombie apocalypse that might happen in life this will be the song playing.
  5. My Interpretation – Mika
    This song is like a breakup song, or when I’m angry and never want to talk to you again. Many hard times in life or situations I sang this song. It was even on a CD mix I made and labeled “I don’t care mix”. With lyrics like “I don’t care if I ever talk to you again… And I don’t need a reason not to care”. Mika is a fantastic artist. Both albums had a ton of songs on it I loved.
  6. History In The Making – Darius Rucker
    This song is the inspiration for the title of this blog. Who knew “Hootie” could belt out a country song. This song says so much about love and that every memory “could be one of those memories we want to hold on to, cling to, one we can’t forget”

  7. What Do You Want From Me?  – Adam Lambert
    Believe it or not, when I have to set my alarm – it is THIS song that I wake up to. I am forever asking the universe what do you want from me? Especially when the alarm went of at 4:30am. Adam is another very talented artist who I think deserves much more success then he has had. But with that being said he did tour with Queen and that is pretty big. And I am sad that I missed that tour. I know people who went and said it was the best show they have ever seen.
  8. Seasons of Love – Rent
    This song is fantastic, the movie is fantastic. This song reminds me to embrace every moment. Really life isn’t about how successful I am, it’s about how much I loved.
  9. If I Had $1,000,000 – Barenaked Ladies
    All Canadians know this song. It came out during my childhood. Whenever we are discussing winning the lottery, we usually end up quoting this song. The entire Gordon album could probably end up on this list for various reasons but we’ll just keep it to one song. If you have never heard Gordon buy it. Pay the money, I actually keep buying this album over and over. I have 3 copies because I come across it and go this album is so awesome. This is pretty much what I would do if I won a million dollars. We wouldn’t have to eat Kraft dinner but we would eat Kraft Dinner.
  10. Bad Day – Daniel Powter
    Another fantastic artist who was just a blip. We all have bad days, bad weeks and bad months. This is the song to go with those days. Just singing it makes one feel better.
  11. Hanging by a Moment –  Lifehouse
    This song was big when Brian and I starting dating, back in high school. Many years ago. It’s one of those songs that takes me back to so much fun and good times. Brian doesn’t sing along to songs often but this one he does.
  12. Is There Life Out There – Reba McEntire
    This song was a favourite of mine as a child, but it actually hits harder now then it did ever before. Marrying in my 20s, now going to school for a new career, being there for my husband and son, and working. These feelings Reba sings about I know and relate to all too much. It’s not an easy path and it is true that sometimes you “learn more from the stains, then the actual paper”

I guess there could actually be a volume two in my collection. Maybe I will share more songs again. Do any of these songs hit home to you? Did you discover an artist you have never heard of before?

What songs are on your list?

Leave a Reply

