Review: The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business

The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business The One Minute Entrepreneur: The Secret to Creating and Sustaining a Successful Business by Kenneth H. Blanchard
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book is one of many business fables out there. This is apparently a thing that I have only discovered in the past year. There are many books out there that are fiction but address real business issues with excellent business advice. This book I picked up because I am in the middle of writing a business plan and thought it would be a good quick read while I am taking my Entrepreneurial course. This book was a quick read, granted it took me 3 weeks to find time to read it.

The chapters were short and summed up with one minute insights. Many of these insights I quite liked such as the following:

  • associate with people you admire and can learn from
  • keep a notebook of the wisdom you read, hear and learn, and distill that into One Minute Insights
  • you’ll be the same year after year except for the people you meet and the books you read
  • it’s not who you know that counts; it’s who knows you and what they think of you
  • on the entrepreneurial path, few people come into your life without a reason

It has many more insights which are applicable and will need to remind myself more and more as I go along the path I am on.

One downside is that it references a website with many quizzes and support that goes along with the book however it appears that the website has been taken down and is not as it once was. I was looking forward to accessing these resources and possibly learning and using them.

The ending was also cheesy and made me vomit a bit in my mouth. The main characters were sitting around the fire 40 years later talking about their successes and who helped them. Oh so warm and fuzzy – NOT!

I’m sure you’ll be seeing more reviews on books like this from me. I have at least 3 sitting on my desk right now waiting for me and the library is right up the street.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

