Hanging Out A Shingle

Have you ever heard that saying before?

Hanging out a shingle?

I’m going to do exactly that. I never heard this saying before my Dad said it and I’m coming across it more and more in some of the books I’m reading.

For those who don’t know it means instead of finding a job you start your own, hunt down your own clients and go at it on your own.

At the end of the year I will be quitting my retail job and putting all of my efforts into starting my own business.

This idea excites me and scares the life out of me at the same time.

I am excited to be my own boss and set my schedule. It is becoming more and more apparent that I do not want to be managed. I want to manage.

This will allow me and the family the flexibility to live the life we want.

This is not an easy route and many small businesses fail but I have an entire group if people cheering me on and trying to help me any way they can to make me successful.

That is just awesome.

So I’m counting down the days until I end my retail career. I’ll be finishing one marathon and starting another.

And despite feeling so deflated I can see the finish line so I will stay focused on that.

Leave a Reply

