The 2016 List

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I was very hesitant to put this list together. If you read my blog yesterday, or have spoken to me recently you know that I have failed at pretty much everything I wanted to do last year. I sat with a notebook and pen over breakfast the other day and thought about things. I started to write and jot things down as they popped into my mind.

I do have a list, there are things I want and need to do this year. I have no shame in at the end of the year standing up and saying I failed at everything, because really you don’t know true success if you have never failed.

  1. Mentally Recharge
    After last year I feel like I need a serious mental recharge. I need to do some things for me, important to me and do some meditating, pondering and just take some time to get myself back to where I need and want to be as a person, wife and Mom.
  2. Schedule ME Time
    Last year despite wanting to do many things I often pushed a lot of what I wanted to do for myself to the side. I was able to squeeze in things here and there but this year I am going to make a valid and selfish effort to schedule me time. I need to take care of myself so I can then take care of the world.
  3. Re-Take and Pass Cost Accounting and Achieve my Certificate
    This is a sore spot for me, there are days where I am fine with failing, and there are other days where I still want to crawl up into a ball. I tired, I spend hours studying and I failed. I was so close to putting the lid on 3 years worth of chipping away at something only to find it still hanging over my head.
  4. Find Happiness in Everyday
    I tried for many years to fill a happiness jar with one happy thing from each day. This failed 3 years in a row. I have a little different idea that I am going to try because after last year and feeling so down and beaten I need to remind myself that there is good in everyday.
  5. Read and Blog about 10 Books
    I am reading the books no problem, the challenge is actually posting a blog about each one of them.
  6. Focus Time on my Business
    For my business to succeed I need to spend time growing it. I need to focus on building the business blog, social media, building networks, growing it and succeeding.
  7. Pursue QuickBooks ProAdvisor Title
    This is something that would be beneficial to my business. It is free and comes with some perks, I just have to put the time into working on the modules and writing a final exam.
  8. Visit LegoLand Discovery Center
  9. Visit Ripley’s Aquarium
  10. Purge my Cupboards 
    I have been wanting to go through my cupboards, I have so many dishes and items that I don’t use. Every time I open the cupboard or put away the dishes I say I am going to clean this out. I never do. So maybe if it’s on the list I’ll get it done.
  11. Revamp my wardrobe
    I have a funny clothing situation. When I am at home I wear my Yoga pants and a sweatshirt, but then when I go to one job I can wear whatever I want including said pair of Yoga pants and sweatshirt, but then my other opportunities I must be more business formal to business casual. I need to do something. My closet is busting out from all the clothes and I keep going back to the same pieces over and over again. I need to come up with a “style” or options that cover every range of clothing situations I need. Have I mentioned I hate clothes shopping, trying on clothes and most days getting dressed if I have to be presentable. This could be a challenge.
  12. Go Sailing
    My father has a sail boat, all his friends have sailboats. I have an open invitation to go on a sailboat I have been admiring for years from afar. Did I make time last year? NO – Will I this year? I HOPE SO!
  13. Evaluate THIS blog
    So after not blogging for a month and a half I have decided that this year I will evaluate and decide to continue or stop this blog. I do love it, I missed doing it however Adam is to an age where he is aware of things like Facebook and blogs. He requests often that I don’t post pictures of him so I feel that I need to respect that request. Will people still be interested in boring old me? I feel as if there will be a change and shift in this blog. Who knows if it will be around at the end of 2016 to reflect on this list.
  14. Take things slower this year
    OK, so item 14 on my list it taking things slower this year. Doesn’t look like it’s going to happen. What I mean is to spend more time with my family and friends and not burn on max power 24 hours a day 7 days a week. I have been going so hard for so long that I feel like I have missed some important things, or have not enjoyed these moments while I am in them.
  15. Decide to pursue a diploma or not
    Maybe I didn’t get the memo about taking things slower this year. I am not thinking of doing this in 2016 or maybe not even 2017 but there is a 7 year expiry on my first set of credits and I have 4 years to complete a 2 year diploma. There are more options available to me then I thought there was. This is something that needs serious consideration, but there is not a this must be done NOW rush on it.
  16. Scrapbook
    Maybe one day I will eventually start to make this list smaller. Right now it is just growing bigger and bigger. I really miss scrapbooking, last year I did practically none at all. This year has to be different, papers and memories are flooding my office. I need to organize them and make them presentable.

    1. Finish 2010 Scrapbook
    2. Start and Finish 2011 Scrapbook
    3. Start and Finish 2012 Scrapbook
    4. Start and Finish 2013 Scrapbook
    5. Start and Finish 2014 Scrapbook
    6. Start and Finish 2015 Scrapbook
    7. Start and Finish 2016 Scrapbook
    8. Finish Adam’s First Year Scrapbook (October 2010-October 2011)
    9. Start and Finish Adam’s Second Year Scrapbook (October 2011-October 2012)
    10. Start and Finish Adam’s Third Year Scrapbook (October 2012-October 2013)
    11. Start and Finish Adam’s Fourth Year Scrapbook (October 2013-October 2014)
    12. Start and Finish Adam’s Fifth Year Scrapbook (October 2014-October 2015)
    13. Start and Finish Adam’s Sixth Year Scrapbook (October 2015-October 2016)

There you have it, my 2016 list. I know this year will be much better then last year was. It has to be. Things can only go up and I am going to make sure I take care of myself, mentally recharge and do everything I can to make it a good year.

Leave a Reply

