Review: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir
Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I laughed, I cried and then I got very bored.

This book was somewhat entertaining but then I found I was flipflopping about if I was enjoying it or hating it.

Jenny has had quite the childhood, quite the life, some of her stories are entertaining, jaw dropping and left you wondering how the heck stuff like this could happen. I cried when she talked about the birth of her child because I have a blood disorder that is often confused with what she had to deal with and I remember the needles, the pain and the worry.

But then there were chapters where she just rambled, the chapters were long, points were lost, and it was poorly written in areas. And all the footnotes, they drove me nuts!

I wanted to love this book, I went to her blog and visited and again wasn’t in love with it. I am not sure that I want to read her second book now.

I love the cover, I love the print inside the book.

If you are looking for a deep intellectual read this is not it. If you want to watch a train wreck and hear stories about hands up dead squirrels butts then this book is for you.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

  1. well I guss not everyone can be as interesting as Anthony LOL (I still read his book all the time)

Leave a comment